Search Blog  

Newsletter Subscription
* indicates required field

Blog Archive

The 8 Stages of Griefs


Grieving Process

Posted On: Aug 29, 2016

The 8 Stages of Griefs

The stages of grief are denial, bargaining, depression, anger, and acceptance. Everyone doesn’t experience each stage. Some people skip denial and go straight to bargaining, anger, or depression. Read more about each stage below.

 Denial or Numbness

When a loved one is suddenly loss, it’s clearly a devastating experience. Denial or numbness protects us from feeling the complete impact all at once. During the denial stage, we may feel like we’re having a surreal or out-of-body experience while taking in the events around us. Others may not understand our behavior at this time. We often even question our own reactions. However, denial does diminish and we’re faced with the facts of the situation and enter one of the following stages.


If we feel that we could’ve done more to help this person or prevent their loss, we experience the bargaining stage. We blame ourselves for the circumstances and believe we could’ve done more to prevent the death. Sometimes we think back at our relationship with the person who has passed and wish we would’ve treated them better. Some people begin to reflect on how they treat others in general and may vow to be kinder, more patient, or caring. If we don’t properly resolve this stage, we can feel intense guilt or remorse.


Most of us will feel depressed at one point or another in our lives but it can be magnified when we lose someone. When someone passes, we can suddenly feel overwhelmed with the realization of the loss which may lead to depression. Signs of depression include lack of interest in your normal activities, trouble sleeping, self-pity, and isolation.


We can feel abandoned or powerless which can lead to anger. Our anger is often directed at doctors, family members, or God. When we lose someone we love, we want to make sense of the situation. If we feel like others could have done more to prevent the death, it’s easy to point a finger and blame them. This anger is often completely emotional and if we were thinking rationally, we would know that no one is to blame.


Unfortunately, everyone does not reach the stage of acceptance. Many people often get stuck in the depression or anger phases. In the acceptance stage, we are ready to heal and confront that our loved one will always be in our hearts and part of our lives, but will never physically be with us again.